Expect the Unexpected

Everyone talks about starting a new life in college but no one talks about starting a new life after college. For some people, you’ll stay in your college town and probably live with college friends. But the majority tend to find themselves in a new city or even back at home. But living back at home presents its own unexpected challenges. Most of your high school friends have moved on and are either living in their college town or moved to some new city. Either way, it’s like starting life all over again, no matter where you end up. And no one talks about it.

So what are we supposed to do? Hopefully you’ll find a job that has people similar in age and interests to connect with. Or maybe your city has fun events or places to go meet people. But, some of you might find yourself in the same unlucky spot that I’m in: a part time job for a boss that’s 50+ years older than you with no other peers, and friends that have moved on. How are we not meant to feel left behind. I don’t have an answer. I wish I did, but I don’t. However, the beautiful thing about this is the opportunity.

I would use the phrase “the world is your oyster” but if you really think about it, an oyster is closed-off, at the bottom of the ocean, and maybe after a few decades of meticulous sand collection, it might make a pearl. So I’m not going to say “the worlds my oyster” because I don’t want to be stuck in an oyster. But with that being said, there is one thing that phrase gets right. It may take years to make that pearl but that pearl will be made.

There’s so much pressure on people in their 20’s to make the right move and have life all figured out. Well guess what, that’s not reality. And that’s okay. I’ve talked to people 10 years older than me and they are still trying to figure life out. It’s a big open field, and we get the opportunity to step anywhere we want. There is no wrong step, as long as we strive to continue to move forward. We may not take a step in right direction but at least we took that step. And hopefully, we are in some way, better for it. Honestly, that’s all we really can do. That’s all anyone can do.

I just had a life discussion with a really good friend about the expectation to have it all figured out right out of college. We are expected to have a 5 year plan. A 10 year plan. A 15 year plan. And follow it down to the letter. Well, surprise! I’m 23-years-old and I don’t even have a 1 year plan. But I’m making moves.

I think I know where I want to go. Right now, I want to be a TV director. That may change, but at least I know that for right now that is what I am going to go after. But let’s be honest, that’s years away. So, for now, I’m stepping in to a part time job at a small talent management company and I’m stepping in to a part time retail job and I’m stepping in to a morning nannying position, all while trying to figure out how to make my pearl. Will all these steps get me there? I don’t know, but at least they are steps. All what we can do is try to take as many tiny steps forward as we can, and hopefully, one day we will make our own pearls. So don’t be afraid of the unexpected. Don’t be afraid that one step might not get you closer to your goal because at least you are taking a step, for however long, until the next step comes along. Soon, you’re gonna look behind you and realize you crossed that field and made your pearl.

large.png

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑